top of page

tv series / 240 x 12 minutes

for cartoon network / 2008 - 2018

Amazing World of Gumball


The Amazing World of Gumball was created by Ben Bocquelet. The first time we met Ben was in 2004 when he and Johannes Weiland just had started as juniors at studio aka, London. As a young director Ben tried to win pitches. But most of the time his ideas were dismissed. When he joined Cartoon Network Studios Europe in 2007 he based several of the series’ characters on rejected characters from his time at studio aka.


The premise of The Amazing World of Gumball is a mixture of "family shows and school shows". The series revolves around the lives of 12-year-old Gumball Watterson, a blue cat, and his best friend—adoptive brother goldfish Darwin, who attend middle school in the city of Elmore.


In the first season our studio set up the technical pipeline and the CGI elements. Starting with season 2 we also took care of the 2d inbetweening, rendering and compositing.

Shadi Adib, Juan Pedro Arroyo, Heike Altenhofen, Antoine Ambert, Louise Bagnall, Etienne Bagot-Caspar, Muhundan Balasubramaniam, Jimena Barreira, Matthias Bäuerle, Giulia Sara Bellunato, Leslie Belot, Maike Blankenhagen, Nicolas Gabriel Bessiières, Idris Bodhy, Remi Bonnin, Alina Bopele, Marie Bossis, Tristan Bossy, Michael Brady, Dani Bragaglia, Patrick Brennecke, Gilles Brink-huizen, Enrique Padron Brito, Kris Brown, Carsten Bunte, Jennifer Bury, Andreu Campos, João Carrilho, Mathias Caze-nave, Lorenzo Conti, Pietro Conti, Paola Costigliola, Sara Cuni, Eric Vogelsang Da-kota, Fran Deltell, Galileo Disperati, Maria Domenech, Tim Dowling, Aisling Doyle, Gero Eckhardt, Tor Engdal, Jimeno Farfán, Waldemar Fast, Elias Fauser, Mark Feller, Eva Figueroa, Laura Fleischmann, Romain Fontaine, Daniel Fontinguero, Katharina Frank, Sophie Gallo, Marta Gargano, Bertrant Gegou, Sara Giuffredi, Guillaume Glachant, Vitor Gomes, Miguel Gomez Aliaga, Sara Guardiola, Karim Guessous, Andrea Gulli, Valerie Giuchard, Simon Dilling Hansen, Thibaut Henoq, Christian Höhn, Jessica Humiliere, Tristan Jaegly, Victoria Jardine, Angela Jedeck,  Julien Jentgen, Ara Jo, Dennis Josten, Arón Keyser, David Kirchner, Justine Klaiber, Sebastian Knebel, Rico Koschmitzky, Kathrin Kuhnert, Atiyyah Lallmahomee, Cordula Langhans, 



Paulina Larson, Audrey LeBerre, Benoit Leleu, Gabrielle Locre, Michael Logar, Wesley Louis, Johannes Lumer, Romain Macé, Perrine Marais, Sarah Marchant, Agathe Marmion, Torben Meier, Vincent Meu- nier, Martin Minsel, Anais Mirliaz, Kathrin Julia Müller, Jaime Morales, Benjamin Morat, Klaus Morschheuser, Etienne Mory, Adolfo di Molfetta, Rocio Montel, Kim Nguyen, Sarah Theil Nielsen, Verena Nomura, Ana Oller Alcay, Anita Ortega, Julia Ostermann, Emer Phillips, Jaime Morate de Prado, Adrian Roca Pritchard, Egbert Reichel, Jonny Reid, Sophie Rekasowski, Alexander Richter, Javier Peres Rodenas, Benjamin Rosentreter, Roberto Rosi, Parzival Röthlein, Keith Rowsell, Thibaut Roy, Peter Ruschel, Dario Sabato, Javier Salvador, Tania Sandroni, Camille Scarella, Felix Schaller, Sabrina Schmid, Heiko Schneck, Matthias Schreck, Jakob Schuh, Janina Serr, Mark Šidlovský, Christoph Siemens, Andreia Silva, Alex Smeaton, Laura Soret, Alexandra Stautmeister, Viktor Stickel, Dominik Stuebinger, Hannes Stummvoll, Sheetal Thankey, Marie-Josephine Tucholski, Michele Tozzi, Alexandre Tissot, Agathe Trebosc, Monika Tenhündfeld, Ursula Ulmi, Stéphanie Veta, Giorgia Velluso, Rocco Venanzi, Alex Viera, Eglantine Vittu, Carla Weber, Johannes Weiland, Sebastian Wetzel, Line Windfeldt Pind.




One unique feature of the series is its lack of stylistic unity. Characters are designed, filmed, and animated using multiple styles and techniques (stylised traditional animation, puppetry, CGI, stop motion, Flash animation, live-action, etc.). The mixed media approach had a great novelty value in 2008. Something not many studios were used to. Even though we only had about 10 people working at soi Cartoon Network hired us to first create the teaser to finance the show, later to produce parts of it.

initial pitch


Michael Carrington, chief content officer Turner Broadcasting: "Every one of these award wins is a fantastic testament to the phenomenal achievements of the entire team who worked on this amazing series. For the début series from our European Studios to make such a huge impact globally both with audiences and in terms of critical acclaim, is truly a wonderful position to be in."

The series was released on Cartoon Network channels in over 160 countries. In the US, the second season premiere of The Amazing World of Gumball was the #1 broadcast of the day among boys 2-11 and 6-11, as well as #1 in its time period among kids 2-11, 6-11 and all boys demos.

The TV-series was eight times awarded with the British Academy Children’s Awards and nominated another eleven times. It won Best Television Production at the Annecy International Animated Film Festival. Gumball won the Annie Awards as Best Animated Television Production for Children in 2012 and was nominated another five times. 


The TV-series also received the Kidscreen Award for Best Animated Series in 2012, the International Emmy Kids Award in 2012 and the Prix Jeunesse in 2012. Further awards and nominations among others were: The Royal Television Society Awards for best Children’s Program in 2011 // nomination for the Broadcast Awards as Best Children’s Program in 2012 // won the EMIL for Best Children’s Television in 2012 // nominated for Annual Irish Film and Television Awards 2012, Best children's program // won Cartoons on the Bay, Pulcinella Awards 2012, Best TV-series for Kids // won Cynopsis Kids Imagination Awards 2012 // won 10th Astra Awards, Most outstanding Children’s Program // nominated for The Pan-American Association of Film & Television Journalists Awards 2012 // won the British Animation Awards in 2016 // nominated for Nickelodeon Kids’ Choice Awards in 2016 and 2017 // won the ProMax BDA Global Excellence Award 2018

bottom of page